Our People

AMBA Board of Directors

The AMBA Board of Directors is a hybrid model of a typical board and an executive management team, known as a working board. AMBA's federated member-club model requires our board to take on all roles of providing leadership and strategy, setting and maintaining vision, mission and values and ensuring compliance with governing documents.

AMBA has more than the average number of directors due to our hybrid model and broad areas of responsibility. Directors make both strategic and operational decisions, with some directors focused purely on management activity such as communicating expectations to our member-clubs and volunteers; managing day-to-day operations and program implementation.

All AMBA directors are internal to our organisation, are members of their local club and are volunteers.  The current directors of the Board are Larrissa Jordan (Chair), Daila Mohr, Cathryn Zischke, Maria Critti-Schnaars, Joanne O'Keefe, Julia McCarthy, Silje Anderson-Cooke, Chemiile Warren.

AMBA Board 2022 

AMBA Patron - Professor Mark P. Umstad AM

Professor Mark Umstad trained at the Royal Women’s Hospital, Melbourne and at the Queen Mother's Hospital in Glasgow where he completed his doctorate thesis (MD) in the area of intrapartum fetal monitoring.

 In 1997 he established Australia's first Multiple Pregnancy Clinic at RWH.

He is currently the Director of Maternity Services at RWH, a Professor in the University of Melbourne, and the Patron of the Australian Multiple Birth Association.

He is on the Editorial Board of Twin Research and Human Genetics and has published widely in the area of multiple pregnancy. He has managed many sets of higher order multiple pregnancies and over 2,000 twin pregnancies.

In 2018 Mark was appointed as a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for services to complex obstetrics as a clinician and academic.

mark umstad